Skip to content

Winners of Open art exhibition announced

Published on Tuesday, July 11, 2017

A PANEL of judges have been assessing the paintings, prints, drawings, photographs, sculptures and craft that feature in this year’s Open art exhibition in Leicester – and the winners have now been announced.

Amongst the prizewinners at Open 28 were Gemma Bee, who won the annual Trevor Thomas prize for her felt sculpture, Hare on a Chair, and Bradley Phelps, whose work The Winds of Change won him this year’s Attenborough Prize.

Nine-year old Ezra Mbogo was amongst the winners in the youth category, with his self-portrait earning him the Spark Arts award, while 17-year-old Megan Aylett won tickets to the De Montfort Hall Christmas pantomime for her acrylic painting, Holidays. 

A list of all the winners is available at

Cllr Piara Singh Clair, assistant city mayor for culture, leisure and sport, said: “Every year, the judges are impressed by the quality of the work that’s submitted to the Open and the Youth Open – and I’m pleased to say that this year was no exception.

“We would like to thank all of the many artists who entered the competition. Their creativity and ingenuity continue to make the Leicester Open a showcase for the best contemporary art and craft in the East Midlands.

“And we would also like to thank our sponsors, whose support to the artists and to the event itself is invaluable.”

In total, 223 artists took part in this year’s Open, submitting more than 250 paintings, sculptures, drawings, photographs and other arts and crafts.

All the exhibits are now on display at the Old Library Gallery in the Leicester Adult Education College on Belvoir Street.

The Open 28 exhibition is open from Monday to Saturday until 26 August. Admission is free.

Work featured at the Open will be available for sale – giving members of the public the opportunity to acquire original work at an affordable price.

The Leicester Open – now in its 28th year – welcomes work from artists living or working in Leicester, Leicestershire, Rutland, Derbyshire, Lincolnshire, Nottinghamshire or Northamptonshire.